Insecurity through Mediocrity is Unattractive

Photo Courtesy of www.tressugar.com

A few years ago, I met a man that at first glance seemed to be the total package. He was clean cut, the CEO of his own company, highly intelligent, a mover and shaker in the community and fine as can be. His aurora oozed excellence and I wanted to be apart of his world, if for nothing more than to just to know such a distinguished gentleman. I had a chance to catch his attention and we scheduled a time to converse over coffee. The meeting day arrived and I showed to the coffee shop a little early to catch up on some reading. Not paying attention, a gentleman walked to the table and plopped down in the chair and said, “Hey girl, what’s up?” I looked up and did a double take, because I felt like I was meeting a total stranger. His beard was over grown, his tennis shoes were dingy and run down, his posture was slouchy and his conversation was filled with comments of insecurity and doubt. The meeting ended cordially and I did not hear from that gentleman again.

A few days ago, I had a meeting with the CEO of another company who expressed to me the same sentiments. “Sherita you exhibit greatness, but I can’t tell. You must walk in total confidence of who you are and what you have to offer the world. No matter what you do, don’t ever shy away from being you.” The words stung my heart and my mind momentarily wandered back to that meeting with the frazzled CEO. You attract who you are and who you want to be, and I am no different.

We all possess the ability to be and do great things. Often times fear holds us back from stepping up to the plate and offering ourselves to the world. In an attempt to shield away from our own flaws, we so often point out the dirt in someone else’s eye that “we believe” may be serving in a less than capacity and point the finger. Yet the three fingers pointing back at us can often times reveal an ugly but real truth. When you become the leader you would follow you realize that insecurity through mediocrity on any level is unattractive. Pretending to be someone you’re not leads people to believe you are just a “wanna-be” seeking for moments of self gratification and attention. In self honesty, if you profess to be at the bottom striving for the top then others are more apt to help you get there quicker.

Put away the mask that shields the heart of who you are. Stop pretending to be someone your not. Take time to realize that you have beautiful human flaws that may never be changed. Maybe then you can roll in the confidence of you just being you without question. Insecurity is a dirty blanket that breeds bacteria of self doubt, insecurity and worthlessness. Start from the bottom and make your way to the top, by admitting who you are, where you are and where you are going!

Today, I am no different than the CEO I met at first site or at the coffee shop. Yet, excitement consumes me because I know I am a strong woman who possess the ability to be on the bottom – making my way to the top all while shedding pounds of insecurity. Choose to take off the mask of insecurity today so we can walk up the ladder to personal greatness together.

One thought on “Insecurity through Mediocrity is Unattractive

Leave a Reply

