Making A Decision

Picture by Nels

Success is recognizing what makes you happy learning when to be obedient to God’s principles and understanding how to make effective decisions.

For many years, I have had the pleasure of running around the universe and doing things on a whim. Being unfocused was both a blessing and a curse. On one hand, I was able to do whatever I wanted without having the consequence of being responsible. On the other hand, my desire to lead others and be stable could not be effectively fulfilled, because I was running off of a scattered brain. I did not realize how my descisons affected my life and the lives of others until yesterday.

My daughter, Aalayah said, “Mom, I don’t like the white car you have, I think you should get another one. I looked at her and smiled. In the back of my mind I was thinking, “This little girl has no idea how much it cost to get a new car, never mind the further cost of a car note.” She continued, “Mom, I also think it is time you get a new place.” At this point, I am really taken back. The conversation ended there, but it was something about her request that stood out in my mind. What my daughter was really telling me was — “Mom, I feel like you possess the ability to be successful enough to get a new car and a new home. You also have a responsibility to make sure I am safe and secure both at home and at play.” Wow! Out of the mouth of babes…., but she was right in every sense of the word. Her comment was one of many that sparked me to make a defined change in my life, but she did slide icing on the cake. Thanks Aalayah. I am going to concentrate on one central goal, understanding that completing that mission will assist in the unveiling and completion many other goals. I also understand that I am human and I will make mistakes, but knowing where I am going is better than messing up without direction.

We all must come to a place in our lives where we get off the merry go round and start to walk a straight path. The path may mean settling down in a 3-bedroom loft apartment, buying a new car and being a responsible leader to a group of people. It may mean leaving an abusive husband, being dedicated to your goal to loose weight, or running a 5k race for cancer. Whatever the course, make a decision that will lead you toward a path of happiness. Just do it! Or you can take that crazy road above. Good luck getting to your destination.

Leave a Reply

