Natural Time

I have become a “clock zombie” and I didn’t even know it. I was so time conscious that I would never get anything done out of frustration of doing things “on time.” We live in an age that tells us we have to do specific tasks at specific times of the day. We have to work from 9 to 5. We have to wake up at 6 a.m. in the morning and wash up and brush our teeth, meditate, make breakfast, etc. They even have planners and organizers that tell us to be so addicted to the clock that we become slaves to time. I now understand that God never wanted us to be “clock zombies.” There is a natural clock in all of us. Your time clock may be different from mine, but our internal system is wired to do certain things at certain times.

Last night, I watched a video by one of my mentors, Isabel Marie, and she was talking about how she does things when she is most inspired like make YouTube videos, phone calls to clients, work, play with her son, sleep, entertain company – everything.

Here is the video…if you are interested in learning her perspective on time.

I admired the freedom she possessed. I wanted that freedom. What’s even more interesting, I met another young lady, Leah Rothschild who talked to me for hours about living a free life by traveling and living in a tour bus with her musician boyfriend. She worked odd jobs when they really needed money to eat and gas up their bus. Ahhh, the freedom. Both Isabel and Leah were slaves to traditional jobs and traditional lives, but something in them broke out of the “time-box (bomb)” Now they both do what they love and love what they do – on their time.

I am reading a book by Steven Covey, First Things First, and he said, “Time is something to be experienced. When we ask, ‘Did you have a good time?’ We’re not asking about the amount of time spent in a particular way, but about the value, the quality, of that time.” That blew me away. Isabel and Leah were on the right track – they were dancing with time – not trying to count minute to minute, but living in the moment. In Ecclesiastes 3:2, in the bible it outlines that there is a time for and place for everything.

A Time for Everything

1 There is a time for everything,
and a season for every activity under heaven:

2 a time to be born and a time to die,
a time to plant and a time to uproot,

3 a time to kill and a time to heal,
a time to tear down and a time to build,

4 a time to weep and a time to laugh,
a time to mourn and a time to dance,

5 a time to scatter stones and a time to gather them,
a time to embrace and a time to refrain,

6 a time to search and a time to give up,
a time to keep and a time to throw away,

7 a time to tear and a time to mend,
a time to be silent and a time to speak,

8 a time to love and a time to hate,
a time for war and a time for peace.

My eyes are open. I will live by my internal time clock. I will accomplish everything I set out to do – on my time. Productivity is birthed from tenacity and the experience of time. — Sherita Searcy. When I am inspired, I will write & journal. When I am sad, I will cry. When I want to just sit down and watch a good movie, or go out to the movies – I will do it. This is where happiness begins. Time zombies are rigid and unhappy. When you experience time – experience life. What side of time do you live on?

4 thoughts on “Natural Time

  1. Great entry, I enjoyed the video, she speaks about a reality many ignored while going around trying to do as much you can do daily forgetting that is not how much you can do but what you must do instead. We don’t need to do it all in order to be successful in life. My book “Simplicity, Richness of Life” is about a period in my life where I lost control of my time and how I gain it back for me and my family. I need to revisit certain areas of my life as I tend to go with the flow of life demands but overall I believe I’ve been doing fine. Thanks so much for sharing.

  2. Wow, Clary, I will have to pick up a copy of your book — It sounds interesting. I am also learning how to let time flow and be in the moment yet have a direct path and focus as to what I want to achieve. I would really love to read your book and learn your perspective as well. Thanks for the comment.

  3. Wendi,
    This book is teaching me so much about myself and my understanding of the world. Steven Covey should have numerous awards for his books….he does a great job of putting things in perspective. Thanks for the post.

Leave a Reply

